The Oscar Nominations 2020 -Joker leads with 11 Nods

Oscar Nominees 2020

The Oscar Nominations 2020 -Joker leads with 11 Nods, Black Actors & Actresses Sidelined – Cynthia Erivo is a sole nominee on the list.

Presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the 92nd Academy Award will be a show between the old and new Hollywood. Netflix leads with 24 nominations including best picture honors for “The Irishman” and “Marriage Story”.

Films are taking more the Oscar attention this year, the “Joker” which portrays the DC Comics Villian is leading this category with 11 nominations including one for best picture.

Sam Mendes’s World War 1 epic received 10, Quentic Tarantino’s “Once upon a time” received 10 and “The Irishman” as well received ten nominations (Martin Scorsese is in for his ninth nomination for best director).

This year Black actors and actresses are sidelined with the British-Nigerian actress “Cynthia Erivo” being the only nominee on list. Lupita NYong’s “Us” and Eddie Murphy “Dolemite is My name” greatly overlooked.

Here is the full list.

Original Song:

“I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away,” -Toy Story 4
“I’m Gonna Love Me Again,” – Rocketman
“I’m Standing With You,” – Breakthrough
“Into the Unknown,” – Frozen 2
“Stand Up,” – Harriet

Makeup and Hair:

– Bombshell
– Joker
– Judy
– Maleficent: Mistress of Evil
– 1917

Costume Design:

”The Irishman,” – Sandy Powell, Christopher Peterson
“Jojo Rabbit,” – Mayes C. Rubeo
“Joker,” – Mark Bridges
“Little Women,” – Jacqueline Durran
“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,” – Arianne Phillips

Visual Effects:

– Avengers Endgame
– The Irishman
– 1917
– The Lion King
– Star Wars: The Rise of Sky-walker

Best Picture:

-Ford v Ferrari
-The Irishman
-Jojo Rabbit
-Little Women
-Marriage Story
-Once Upon a Time in Hollywood.

Lead Actor:

Antonio Banderas – “Pain and Glory”
Leonardo DiCaprio – “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”
Adam Driver – “Marriage Story”
Joaquin Phoenix – “Joker”
Jonathan Pryce – “The Two Popes”

Lead Actress:

Cynthia Erivo – “Harriet”
Scarlett Johansson – “Marriage Story”
Saoirse Ronan – “Little Women”
Charlize Theron – “Bombshell”
Renee Zellweger – “Judy”

Supporting Actor:

Tom Hanks – “A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood”
Anthony Hopkins – “The Two Popes”
Al Pacino – “The Irishman”
Joe Pesci – “The Irishman”
Brad Pitt – “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

Supporting Actress:

Kathy Bates – “Richard Jewell”
Laura Dern – “Marriage Story”
Scarlett Johansson – “Jojo Rabbit”
Florence Pugh – “Little Women”
Margot Robbie – “Bombshell”


Martin Scorsese – “The Irishman”
Todd Phillips – “Joker”
Sam Mendes – “1917”
Quentin Tarantino – “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”
Bong Joon Ho – “Parasite”

Animated Feature:

“How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World,” – Dean DeBlois
“I Lost My Body,” – Jeremy Clapin
“Klaus,” – Sergio Pablos
“Missing Link,” – Chris Butler
“Toy Story 4,” – Josh Cooley

Animated Short:

“Dcera,” – Daria Kashcheeva
“Hair Love,” – Matthew A. Cherry
“Kitbull,” – Rosana Sullivan
“Memorable,” – Bruno Collet
“Sister,” – Siqi Song

Adapted Screenplay:

“The Irishman,” – Steven Zaillian
“Jojo Rabbit,” – Taika Waititi
“Joker,” – Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
“Little Women,” – Greta Gerwig
“The Two Popes,” – Anthony McCarten

Original Screenplay:

“Knives Out,” – Rian Johnson
“Marriage Story,” – Noah Baumbach
“1917,” – Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Cairns
“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,” – Quentin Tarantino
“Parasite,” – Bong Joon-ho, Jin Won Han


“The Irishman,” – Rodrigo Prieto
“Joker,” – Lawrence Sher
“The Lighthouse,” – Jarin Blaschke
“1917,” – Roger Deakins
“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,” – Robert Richardson

Best Documentary Feature:

“American Factory,” – Julia Rieichert, Steven Bognar
“The Cave,” – Feras Fayyad
“The Edge of Democracy,” – Petra Costa
“For Sama,” – Waad Al-Kateab, Edward Watts
“Honeyland,” – Tamara Kotevska, Ljubo Stefanov

Best Documentary Short Subject:

“In the Absence,” – Yi Seung-Jun and Gary Byung-Seok Kam
“Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone,” – Carol Dysinger
“Life Overtakes Me,” – Kristine Samuelson and John Haptas
“St. Louis Superman,” – Smriti Mundhra and Sami Khan
“Walk Run Cha-Cha,” – Laura Nix

Best Live Action Short Film:

“Brotherhood,” – Meryam Joobeur
“Nefta Football Club,” – Yves Piat
“The Neighbors’ Window,” – Marshall Curry
“Saria,” – Bryan Buckley
“A Sister,” – Delphine Girard

Best International Feature Film:

“Corpus Christi,” – Jan Komasa
“Honeyland,” – Tamara Kotevska, Ljubo Stefanov
“Les Miserables,” – Ladj Ly
“Pain and Glory,” – Pedro Almodovar
“Parasite,” – Bong Joon Ho

Film Editing:

“Ford v Ferrari,” – Michael McCusker, Andrew Buckland
“The Irishman,” – Thelma Schoonmaker
“Jojo Rabbit,” – Tom Eagles
“Joker,” – Jeff Groth
“Parasite,” – Jinmo Yang

Sound Editing:

“Ford v Ferrari,” – Don Sylvester
“Joker,” – Alan Robert Murray
“1917,” – Oliver Tarney, Rachel Tate
“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,” – Wylie Stateman
“Star Wars: The Rise of Sky-walker,” – Matthew Wood, David Acord

Sound Mixing:

-Ad Astra
-Ford v Ferrari
-Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Production Design:

“The Irishman,” – Bob Shaw and Regina Graves
“Jojo Rabbit,” – Ra Vincent and Nora Sopkova
“1917,” – Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales
“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,” – Barbara Ling and Nancy Haigh
“Parasite,” – Lee Ha-Jun and Cho Won Woo, Han Ga Ram, and Cho Hee

Original Score:

“Joker,” – Hildur Guonadottir
“Little Women,” – Alexandre Desplat
“Marriage Story,” – Randy Newman
“1917,” – Thomas Newman
“Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker,” – John Williams

Related posts

How To Survive On $270 USD For Seven Months

Matt Smith

What to Know Before Owning a Horse

Matt Smith

How to Treat Your Loved One on a Vacation

Matt Smith

Leave a review